Monday, August 31, 2009

Placement closer to home

Placement yesterday was at Rowville  and it was actually close to hoe that I could walk there lol. But I didn't.. I chose to take the car instead. I didn't want to walk in the rain. And maybe my wet weather gear could come into use for once!

 

This particular branch is kinda hidden that I didn't even noticed that I've been driving past it everyday D:

 

When I found the unit, I saw the emblem on the window and curtains closed…. I wasn't sure if anyone was there and I took a peek (hehe) and see what I think the night crew ppl still sleeping. I felt a bit guilty if I woke them up by knocking on the door to let me in… but it was starting to rain and I didn't want to be left outside in the rain xD and they prob can see me through the frosted glass door that i might as well revea myself..

 

One of the guys let me in and he looked a bit different. I couldn't spot it for a while until I saw his epaulet. (which are those tags on the shoulders. Which I had to buy separately..

 

(holy crap, it's blue!!!!!) it's that graduate paramedic epaulets I saw on a piece of paper~~ I get to see on in real life and he's wearing it~~

*stares at her epaulets….* boring… plain… and yellow.. and just says "student paramedic"

So one day when I graduate, I'll wear those blue ones~ it's so pretty~~

 

Hmm… yesterday was super quiet. And when I walked around the branch, I saw my name and 2 other ppls who were supposed to be my crew… but they weren't there.. and I didn't see a team manager there.. and my current crew were from Springvale and Frankston @.@

 

Crew 1: where do you live?

Me: I live… just around the corner

Crew 1 to crew 2 (who was doing the daily check in the truck): we got a local!

Me:…………

 

We were like.. so bored.. one of them kept napping while the other was checking his emails. And I just stared at the tv screen that had the sport channel on and hopped on and off on msn on my phone. When the other guy finished checking his emails, he was like.. "everyone is on the move… just not us.."

 

I wasn't surprised that I will not get a job lol. Sometimes stared out the window and see pouring rain and kinda wished that there would be some car accident on stud/wellington road XD.

 

I watched the clock ticked from 7am…………to 8am…….to 9am……almost to 10am….. and we finally got a job! And on the way the traffic stopped cos of an oversized vehicle turning into the road we're turning into -.- we had our sirens and lights but its annoying how some drivers just don't obey!

 

After that I kinda skipped the lunch break…… I thought I could like.. sneak out and go next door and buy food or something, also kinda tempted to ring mum to cook me dumplings and bring it to me since I'm not far away lol! But I wasn't sure if we'll get a call by the time I get my lunch… I only had ice cream to survive throughout the day lol (yes I ate ice cream for breakfast at 6:25am when it was cold outside) I pretty much ate nothing during placement.

 

There was another job shortly after finishing the first one and then we went back and it all started again =.=. but this time my crew were sleeping and I was the only one awake and staring at the tv… which was more sport…. (cars racing) and even that finished and started this Michael Jackson's old tv concert to celebrate his birthday. I was pretty bored that I was on msn and talked to Phe for a moment.

 

1pm…to 2pm….to 3pm… I wasn't surprised if I got no job at all for the remainder of the day… but we did get one. (I was praying that my day won't end up with death again)

 

So we finished our last job and we were still in Angliss Hospital and our ambo work station (yes we have paperwork to do) was in front of this children's play area, it's like.. the cutest thing that made my day! I watched the nurse saying to the girl that her mum/grandma was "this way" and then they walked past us. about a few minutes later we were on our way to our truck and we see that lil kid again and I assume her mum or grandma…

 

Mum/grandma: OH!!!!PARAMEDICS!!!! YOU'RE DOING SUCH A BRAVE THING!! BEING A PARAMEDIC!!!

My thoughts: oh shoot!! Was she talking to me?!?! *stares at her uniform looking for the word "paramedic" (which I sadly don't have)*

Mum/grandma: GOOD JOB!!! KEEP IT UP!!!!!

Me: thank you…

 

And that convo took place in front of the visitors room where the parents of the patient we looked after was staring at us and saw the whole thing >.<

No comments:

Post a Comment